Term Dates 2016/17

Whilst every effort is made to ensure that these dates are accurate, there are occasions when circumstances beyond our control may result in changes.
Five days are also available for professional day closures (including inset days) during term time. These are specified by the headteacher and governors of each school. Please check with your school for further details.

2016/17 Proposed School Term Dates

Autumn Term 2016:

Term starts: Monday 5 September 2016

Half Term: Monday 24 October 2016 to Friday 28 October 2016

Term ends: Friday 16 December 2016

Christmas Holiday: Monday 19 December 2016 to Friday 30 December  2016

Total 70 days

Spring Term 2017:

Term starts: Tuesday 3 January 2017

Half Term: Monday 20 February 2017 to Friday 24 February 2017

Term ends: Friday 7 April 2017

Easter Holiday: Monday 10 April 2017 to Friday 21 April 2017

Total 64 days

Summer Term 2017:

Term starts: Monday 24 April 2017

Half Term: Monday 29 May 2017 to Friday 2 June 2017

Term ends: Tuesday 25 July 2017

Summer Holiday begins: Wednesday 26 July 2017

61 days

Total number of days: 195

Bank holidays:

August Bank Holiday: 29 August 2016

Christmas Day: Sunday 25 December 2016

Boxing Day: Monday 26 December 2016

New Year’s Day: Sunday 1 January 2017

Bank Holiday: Monday 2 January 2017

Good Friday: Friday 14 April  2017

Easter Monday: Monday 17 April 2017

May Day: Monday 1 May 2017

Spring Bank Holiday: Monday 29 May 2017

August Bank Holiday: Monday 28 August 2017

Training Days:

Friday 27th January 2017

Monday 5th June 2017

Family holidays/school holidays

Children have 13 weeks annual holiday from school and school holiday dates are published well in advance. As such, all parents/carers are expected to plan and take their family holidays at this time so as not to disrupt their children’s education. The law states that parents do not have a right to take their child out of school for a holiday during term time.

Parents/carers who take their child out of school without written permission from the school can be issued with a fixed penalty fine.

Whitehall Junior Community School

  • Delves Road

  • Walsall

  • West Midlands

  • WS1 3JY

School Web Design by FSE Design

Together Everyone Achieves More

School Web Design by FSE Design